• Hi Guest! Forum rules have been updated. All users please read here.

Internet 7.0 problem with forum?

TinWing

ACCESS: Top Secret
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
893
Reaction score
76
Ever time I visit this forum, IE 7.0 "locks up" and I'm forced to shut down the unresponsive process in Windows Task Manager. (Ctrl+alt+del, select "Processes" tab, right click iexplore.exe, then select "end process.)"

As I the only one having this problem, or just the last poster who is still using IE - which incidentally, is wonderful from a functional standpoint in the 7.0 iteration.
 

sferrin

ACCESS: USAP
Senior Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
13,865
Reaction score
2,128
I have the same problem. It started the day the PayPal button got added to the bottom. (It started a couple hours after I tested it for you Paul). It seemed to die on the same file every time but now it only dies about 60% of the time instead of 100%. I'm accessing this right now from a 64-bit XP machine and haven't had the same problem as my home (32-bit) machine. Could be an addon bar conflicting or who knows.
 

Speedy

ACCESS: Confidential
Joined
Nov 10, 2007
Messages
58
Reaction score
4
Do you use Skype or similar communicator software? If yes switch it off (or better uninstall) and try forum again. Sometimes Skype could hang up IE on some websites.
 

overscan (PaulMM)

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
12,849
Reaction score
4,720
Works perfectly here.

I'll remove the button, can you see if it stops crashing?

Scott, I changed the link to an encrypted one shortly after you tested it for me, it might be something to do with that.
 

Matej

Multiuniversal creator
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
2,614
Reaction score
170
Website
www.hitechweb.genezis.eu
Just one suggestion - my IE7 crash almost EVERY TIME I use it! Not only when I am at Secretproject, but I experience this problems with many web pages. It's too pity that I was so stupid that I allowed this "upgrade". Opera has not any problem with it, and also at work I use Firefox 2.0 wit the same result - without errors.
 

TinWing

ACCESS: Top Secret
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
893
Reaction score
76
overscan said:
Works perfectly here.

I'll remove the button, can you see if it stops crashing?

Scott, I changed the link to an encrypted one shortly after you tested it for me, it might be something to do with that.

It doesn't seem to be locking up at the moment. Puzzling?
 

TinWing

ACCESS: Top Secret
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
893
Reaction score
76
overscan said:
Not really,must be the paypal link caused it.

Puzzling in the sense that a paypal link should be entirely innocuous.
 

TinWing

ACCESS: Top Secret
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
893
Reaction score
76
overscan said:
Well thats what you get for using a substandard browser ;D

Yes, Firefox with the NoScript add-on is the "gold standard" for web browsers, but IE 7.0 has the "add tab" tab - and it seems to load a bit quicker.

Firefox/NoScript is better than IE 7.0, but I really hate to use the term "substandard."
 

flateric

ACCESS: Above Top Secret
Staff member
Top Contributor
Senior Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
9,148
Reaction score
1,287
Matej said:
Just one suggestion - my IE7 crash almost EVERY TIME I use it! Not only when I am at Secretproject, but I experience this problems with many web pages. It's too pity that I was so stupid that I allowed this "upgrade". Opera has not any problem with it, and also at work I use Firefox 2.0 wit the same result - without errors.

Vista/IE 7.0 here. No problems. Had this bug, too. Caused by installing a zoo of various IE add-ons that not quite appropriate for Vista/IE 7.0. Go to the IE settings and restore defaults. Worked in my case, no crashes for 2 months.
 

Attachments

  • ie7defaults.jpg
    ie7defaults.jpg
    57.8 KB · Views: 29

sferrin

ACCESS: USAP
Senior Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
13,865
Reaction score
2,128
works fine now. The only add-in I have is the Google toolbar and Adobe's acrobat bar (icon).
 

flateric

ACCESS: Above Top Secret
Staff member
Top Contributor
Senior Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
9,148
Reaction score
1,287
sferrin said:
works fine now. The only add-in I have is the Google toolbar and Adobe's acrobat bar (icon).

I have zero and quite happy)
 

Similar threads

Top