Unknown gun/mounting model

Jaisheelal400

ACCESS: Restricted
Reaction score
I'd have named this better if I had any certain idea what it was :cool:
I purchased the model a year ago, presented in a large and well-made box marked "MOD". It came with a small note saying that it originally belonged to a man who worked at R.O.F. Nottingham, and whose son then sold the thing at auction.
It's a very heavily-built and very well-finished - if somewhat sparingly detailed - model, and looks to be from perhaps the 1960s or 1970s (although I'm no expert at dating this sort of thing.)
The trunk (if the door on side is any suggestion) would be the height of a full deck, and there is absolutely no way that this thing would fit in any sort of reasonable land vehicle.
The barrel is rather skinny for its length by naval standards, and has a bore evacuator (which I've only seen in naval guns on the 4.5-inch Mark 8, famously derived from the R.O. L7)
Consequently, my theory from the very beginning was that if it was anything, then it was some attempt to navalise the gun from a tank/SPG, and Hood suggested to me in private correspondence that it might be something to do with Marconi's 105mm "Autonomous Patrol Gun" project (also based on the R.O. L7 but without upscaling the gun/ammunition), intended for use on offshore patrol vessels.

I'm taking it all with a pinch of salt, because it might simply be some sort of practice job for honing the model-making skills of the builder, or a comedically-exaggerated example for instructional purposes.

I would very much welcome any input, and I apologise in advance to the moderation team if this is in the wrong place.

A photograph of it in the shop:
1697522920294.png
And a photograph I took today, albeit in rather unflattering light:
1697524837176.png