New book on space advertizing 1957-1962

blackstar

ACCESS: Top Secret
Reaction score
I mentioned this previously. I worked as a fact-checker on it and it's filled with great artwork. The article has an interactive feature that shows some of the work:

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/09/science/space/09space.html

Attachments

• 09space2-popup.jpg
    09space2-popup.jpg
    60.2 KB · Views: 54
  • arma59mars.jpg
    arma59mars.jpg
    76.4 KB · Views: 259
http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2010/03/qa_another_sciencefiction/

...I may consider buying a copy. Feel like signing one? I'll even let you use those "colorful metaphors" you so despise :D

The author is going to be making a number of appearances. I believe she will be at the National Air and Space Museum in Washington at the end of May.

Got it. Really great and inspiring: definitely one of my library's bests. Why? Aside from picking up interesting ads and organizing them thematically, the text itself enlights readers on the background, the context, and thus offers some perspective. Missing is a list of artists/illustrators. Like a tribute. At first sight, the most creative, avant-gardist company was Martin. Their ads were so neatly conceived, so perfectly designed and though provoking ("what is time?", "Problem: Gravity", etc.) and coherent, this whole series of ads would deserve a book. Martin's ads raise more questions than answers as to what was considered lab / R&D priority. This book somehow completes McCurdy's "Space and the american imagination" (1994/1995)...

The text explains that it was not possible to figure out what artists were responsible. Commercial artists did not sign their work.

She is going to be on The Space Show in a few weeks.

index.php

Frank Tinsley's pictures very interesting. I like this picture "Mars Snooper".
:)

http://www.usatoday.com/tech/science/columnist/vergano/2010-05-31-space-ads_N.htm?loc=interstitialskip

Moon race ads had the right stuff
By Dan Vergano, USA TODAY