Search Function

Barrington Bond

ACCESS: Top Secret
Senior Member
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
938
Reaction score
182
I seem to be having problems with the site Search function - it will only allow me to see page 1 then throws up an error on any other pages??

Regards,
Barry
 

flateric

ACCESS: Above Top Secret
Staff member
Top Contributor
Senior Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
9,305
Reaction score
1,887

Antonio

Moderator
Staff member
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
3,660
Reaction score
538
me too.

Attached the message you get when you click to see from results page 2 onwards
 

Attachments

  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    24.5 KB · Views: 100

Matej

Multiuniversal creator
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
2,610
Reaction score
212
Website
www.hitechweb.genezis.eu
Confirmed here too. I think that Paul will soon fix the problem. Till that time I suggest to do a much specific search with more keywords and less amount of the results.
 

overscan (PaulMM)

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
13,706
Reaction score
8,048
Yes, it seems so. I will investigate - may be a bug in the most recent update to the forum software.
 

Stargazer2006

ACCESS: USAP
Senior Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2009
Messages
13,221
Reaction score
862
[Not sure if it is the best place to post this, but it seems good enough.]

After three years of being a member of this great forum, I've just realized that the search tool located in the top right-hand corner of the pages is contextual... in other words, it doesn't bring the same results depending on which part of the forum you're in!

While clicking on the "Search" thumb (top left) from any page will generate a global search in every topic of the forum, entering search words in the search box on the right will only bring results from the one section of the forum you are currently visiting. How confusing!

No wonder the mods and admins sometimes don't understand how we failed to find a certain subject and reposted something or re-created a topic for something that already exists!

My apologies for all the times that I genuinely searched using the right tool but in the wrong sections. I really believe that this search box ought to be changed for global searches, and if not, at least there should be a mention that the search will be made only in the current section, otherwise it is a massive source of confusion...
 

flateric

ACCESS: Above Top Secret
Staff member
Top Contributor
Senior Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
9,305
Reaction score
1,887
yes, confirm that
 

CJGibson

ACCESS: Top Secret
Senior Member
Joined
May 26, 2011
Messages
1,594
Reaction score
1,063
My only gripe with the otherwise excellent search function is that it flags up all posts by members whose user name is that of the aircraft or missile I'm searching for.

Chris
 

overscan (PaulMM)

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
13,706
Reaction score
8,048
I believe this changed in SMF 2.0, the recent upgrade.


I don't believe its easily configurable - will check.
 

overscan (PaulMM)

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
13,706
Reaction score
8,048
The default search is:

If you are at top level of forum, global search (all boards)
If you are at top level of forum section, section search (single board)
If you are in a topic, topic search (single topic)


I can install a modification which adds a dropdown box which


1) shows your current search option as above
2) allows you to change it
3) Adds a google search option
 

Stargazer2006

ACCESS: USAP
Senior Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2009
Messages
13,221
Reaction score
862
overscan said:
I can install a modification which adds a dropdown box which


1) shows your current search option as above
2) allows you to change it
3) Adds a google search option

That would be awesome. :)
 

overscan (PaulMM)

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
13,706
Reaction score
8,048
Done! I added Google, and Bing for the 3 people in the world who use that search engine :)
 

overscan (PaulMM)

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 27, 2005
Messages
13,706
Reaction score
8,048
CJGibson said:
My only gripe with the otherwise excellent search function is that it flags up all posts by members whose user name is that of the aircraft or missile I'm searching for.

Chris


I checked, there doesn't seem to be any way to stop that, as the username is included in the "message".
 

CJGibson

ACCESS: Top Secret
Senior Member
Joined
May 26, 2011
Messages
1,594
Reaction score
1,063
Indeed, perhaps a ruling on no-aircraft-names-as-user-names could help given the size of the database that SPF now is. Annoy a few folk, (Morning, Mike!) but make life easier for all in the long term.

Chris
 

Michel Van

ACCESS: Above Top Secret
Senior Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
5,476
Reaction score
2,692
overscan said:
Done! I added Google, and Bing for the 3 people in the world who use that search engine :)


That me !
i one of those three people
and new search function is fantastic B)


big THX to Overscan ;D
 

AeroFranz

ACCESS: Top Secret
Senior Member
Joined
May 4, 2008
Messages
2,394
Reaction score
429
Thanks for keeping this baby the best site of it's type on the net :)
 

Similar threads

Top