Majoring in mechanical or aerospace engineering?

RadicalDisconnect

Anthony Foulke
Reaction score
I'm currently a mechanical engineering student finishing up my first year at UCI, and I'm currently contemplating whether I should switch to aerospace engineering, due to my interest in this area. However, my counselors and classmates are telling me that compared to mechanical, jobs for aerospace engineering majors are more scarce because it's a more specialized field. Not only that, because my parent are from legal background, I have no personal connections or contacts in the mechanical or aerospace industry. My main concern is internship opportunities and employment outlook after graduation. Since this is a predominantly aerospace forum with quite a few engineers, I'm wondering what members of this forum think about this issue.

Re: The choice of college major

Oh UCI!
It is important whether you have the clear target for you to be engaged in aerospace industry and to finish this absolutely.
Aerospace industry is the very severe world.

Of course I mean SST. ;D

RadicalDisconnect said:
I'm currently a mechanical engineering student finishing up my first year at UCI, and I'm currently contemplating whether I should switch to aerospace engineering, due to my interest in this area. However, my counselors and classmates are telling me that compared to mechanical, jobs for aerospace engineering majors are more scarce because it's a more specialized field. Not only that, because my parent are from legal background, I have no personal connections or contacts in the mechanical or aerospace industry. My main concern is internship opportunities and employment outlook after graduation. Since this is a predominantly aerospace forum with quite a few engineers, I'm wondering what members of this forum think about this issue.