hypersonic scramjet jet fighter concept?

masimaes

ACCESS: Restricted
Reaction score
i just got an idea, im no aerospace engineer but if any of yall are, then tell me if this would work. a scramjet/turbofan hybrid stealth fighter. the fighter would use a mix of a hybrid engine between both the scramjet and turbofan, the scramjet would be activated during high speed and high altittude flight, while the turbofan would be used for the opposite. theres a advantage of point of being stealth if you can fly below 100,000 ft like a regular fighter so lets make it stealth anyways, it would have a 60 degree sweep of the tail/elevators, a flaperon such as the f-16, with a dimaond delta wing for aerodynamic effeincy at both high speeds and low speeds, with radar absorbant matierals, and a the canopies would be coated with a thin layer of Indium Tin Oxide (ITO). with a highly advanced fbw cockpit to keep the plane stable.at this point the plane is at the edge of space flying at mach 6, so it would need porous silicon material that is very light and extremely heat resistant as was used on the space shuttle. it will also have 3d thrust vectoring for supermanuvilbilty. with a service ceiling of nearly 330,000 feet, it would be flying so high and fast that radars and intercepters at the time cant catch it like the sr-71, but stealther, faster, and flying far higher. due to the scramjet the aircraft will be able to fly at those speed and heights no fighter jet has flown before, and thanks to the turbofan, the fighter would act like a normal fighter at lower speeds and altiudes.

i cant spell

Last edited:
Your concept of a hypersonic stealth fighter is the stuff that dreams are made of.

Attachments

• transatmosfighter.jpg
    transatmosfighter.jpg
    207.2 KB · Views: 62