What Military Aviation Fiction & Non-Fiction Or That Features IFV (MBTs,APCs & CO)Would You Recommend To Someone Totally Ignorant On The Subject ?

TheRejectionist

ACCESS: Secret
Reaction score
In the story I am planning, I would love to feature planes' fights and infantry fighting vehicles' fights.

I tried to look for myself but the research result were somewhat small or didn't correspond to what I was looking for.
Since I am not an aviation or aereospace engineer, military or anything of the sort I don't have the faintest clue of what would or what wouldn't make sense in those two fields. My level of understanding is even below basic, with my comments probably being at best "looks cool/ugly" or "looks practical/impractical".

So what books should I read/listen and which ones I should avoid since I am an ignoramus on these fields?

Well I'm new here, so might be stepping on feet, but let me tell you a little of what I know. I was a soldier, and former law enforcement. I spent a bit of time in U.S. Army Stryker's.

Probably the biggest thing that people don't understand about modern warfare is just how advanced these vehicles, both ground and air. For example, with out data link the vehicle commander could see on a high quality moving satellite image map, all the other units in our command. (or whatever, depends on settings.) If we got a radio call that say, vehicle 1 (we're #3 in this example) was receiving fire from the west, we could see exactly where they were, where we were, and the area around both of us. We might see a building, a hill or other likely position for the enemy to be at. Using this it wasn't difficult for a commander to give separate orders to different units, and everyone knows where everyone else is.