B-70 RCS Reduction Studies

CaseyKnight

I really should change my personal text
Reaction score
I can't find any images of this, but I've read about studies that were undertaken to bring the B-70's RCS down to that of the B-52. Plans called for 10-20 degrees of dihedral to be added to the wings, vertical tail-surfaces to be canted inward 10-20 degrees, as well as the addition of slanted sides to the lower fuselage.

Does anybody have anything to corroborate this?

CaseyKnight said:
I can't find any images of this, but I've read about studies that were undertaken to bring the B-70's RCS down to that of the B-52. Plans called for 10-20 degrees of dihedral to be added to the wings, vertical tail-surfaces to be canted inward 10-20 degrees, as well as the addition of slanted sides to the lower fuselage.

Does anybody have anything to corroborate this?
I'm no expert but I feel the rcs of the XB-70A aircraft were already less than that of B-52 aircraft. -SP

According to Landis & Jenkins' huge book Valkyrie: North American's Mach 3 Superbomber, most of the studies focused on IR signature reduction, and some of those got pretty detailed. They do mention that RAM applications were studied, including on the inner surfaces of the intakes. Remak and Ventolo's book XB-70 Valkyrie: The Ride to Valhalla also mentions the RAM treatments (although in far less detail), and they've got a polar RCS plot showing the RCS of the XB-70 from various angles. From head on it appears to have a very small RCS for its size of well under 100 m^2, with a 1,000 m^2 spike to the left and right of center due to the untreated intakes. RAM would've cut those down significantly giving the XB-70 an RCS of well under 100 m^2 to an angle of about 45 degrees left and right of center in the forward hemisphere. From the side, yeah, it looked like a small moon on radar! But so did any other large aircraft at the time, really.