Who Flew First? An Inquiry into the first piloted heavier-than-air vehicle...

Bleriot invented the airplane.
Tail in back--engine in front.
Not really. Many folks had tried out this configuration, and it had flown successfully on gliders and on powered models. A few, such as Whitehead and Vuia, had built powered aeroplanes. Whether Whithead succeeded in flying it before Bleriot is a matter of controversy, but what is not in doubt is that in 1906 Bleriot was still fiddling with bizarre tandem-biplane designs, while Trajan Vuia got on and built a high-wing tractor monoplane with rear-mounted empennage. Bleriot was perhaps the first to make it work properly, but no way did he invent it.

Some Brazilians and some French I met in my life (I am Humanities student, so I am not an expert) would say Santos Dumont.

Sounds like a replay of the utterly virulent steam-engine lawyering that may have set back that tech by half a century, due too much ingenuity wasted trying to out-flank rivals' patents. Cries of 'My Precious !!' to be heard from every quarter...

I'm reminded of the comparable battle between Edison & Swann who, fortunately, recognised the impending, expensive stale-mate, dismissed their lawyers, pooled their patents, agreed their markets and 'shook on it'...

Apart from being unpowered, George Cayley deserves great credit for his contraption!
Cayley was the first to identify:
  • The key technical problem of powered flight, viz. "to support a given weight by the application of power to the air",
  • The four fundamental forces involved: weight, lift, drag and thrust.
  • The four technical disciplines to be conquered: propulsion. structure, aerodynamics and stability and control.
  • The configuration which would eventually become "conventional", to wit a lifting wing with tail-mounted horizontal and vertical stabilising and control surfaces.