What infrastructure does this site run on?

Elysium

ACCESS: Confidential
Reaction score
Hi!
Sorry if this is not the right place for this question, but I'm curious, what sort of hardware or VM provider is hosting this site.
From a quick snoop I could tell that this is an nginx webserver running on Ubuntu hosted by DigitalOcean.
I just wonder what sort of IT infrastructure does it take to run and administer a forum in this day and age.

It's a Digital Ocean droplet running Ubuntu and the software stack is nginx, PHP, MariaDB and redis. The forum software is Xenforo which is commercial. It is backed up to my home Linux server.

It's very simple for me to manage, but I am an IT engineer with 30+ years experience with UNIX OS.

Once the server is running, it's pretty much just installing updates.

Every few years I migrate the forum to a new host with the latest Linux and Xenforo CMS.

Thanks for the info. So is everything (db, forum, hosting content) running on the same machine, or is it more elaborate?

It's crazy that with all this cloud stuff going on, where if you asked a cloud guy to design a forum architecture, you'd end up with a cluster of machines running docker, a separate cluster for the DB, a third party CMS for the content and a load balancer in front of it all, managed by something like Kubernetes. No availability zone splitting, no multiple geographic locations, etc.

It's refreshing to see that you can run a production website used by many users on such straightforward infrastructure.

Last edited:
Everything is on one server.

For the next major update I will switch to storing attachments in an object store (DigitalOcean Spaces, an S3 clone) which will be cheaper and expandable indefinitely, but it will stay single server.

If it was a commercial enterprise making money, I could indeed have a highly available Kubernetes cluster, failover database cluster, load balancer etc. I work with these kind of technologies at work.