Gates may scrap/retire entire F-15C/D fleet?

John21

ACCESS: Confidential
Reaction score
I recently read in the most recent issue of "Combat Aircraft" that just came in the opinion column by Robert F Dorr on the Secdefs cutbacks that he is thinking about retiring the ENTIRE F-15C/D fleet. I have checked on google for any sources for verification but can not find anything. Does anyone out there have any info on this? This is just ******* crazy and stupid!

I'm not an expert on this but maybe the $$ just isnt there anymore. And maybe too much was being spent to justify it. Or the money is going to next generation systems ie post f-22 and 6th generation.

There's a quote out there from early G H Bush days in the sense: we do not need F-15+F-18+F-22+F-35...which is surely right?

Ah, Gates makes me want to hit my head against a wall.

Scrap/retire entire F-15C/D fleet? Maybe if we were building enough F-22As to replace them and continuing development of that aircraft.

I honestly think they don't know what they want, save replace as many aircraft as inhumanly possible with the JSF. Didn't we learn our lesson on that with the F-111? :mad:

Has this anything to do with the longerons? Or is this an entire different matter?

For more info on the longerons and their failings
http://www.acc.af.mil/news/story.asp?id=123078813

Demon Lord Razgriz said:
I honestly think they don't know what they want, save replace as many aircraft as inhumanly possible with the JSF. Didn't we learn our lesson on that with the F-111? :mad:

We also learned a lesson with the F-4. ::)

sferrin said:
Demon Lord Razgriz said:

The F-4 had the benefit of being developed over time with variants coming out when they were needed most, F-15 looked to have been going the same route before the end of the Cold War as well cause it wasn't required to do everything at once.