Apollo Command Module EVA handle drawings?

zephyr9900

ACCESS: Restricted
Reaction score
So I'm a mechanical engineer with a CNC milling machine in my garage. I thought it would be fun to make a new handle for the enclosure door as a replica of an Apollo command module EVA handle.

I see from photos that the handles were made from a central tubular part, and upstream and downstream forgings/machinings. There were apparently two subcontractors for the EVA handles since there are two distinct configurations, which I'm calling "square" and "round". (I'm attaching screenshots.) The "flat" handles were used on Apollos 4, 6, 7, 8, 10 and 14. The "round" handles were used on Apollos 9, 11, 12 (based on one fuzzy post-recovery photo I've seen), 13, 15, 16 and 17.

I'm thinking that the main crew hatches were all built at one time. From what I see, all of the short main crew hatch handles were closer to the "square" variety, regardless of the EVA handle style, but the bases don't match either style of EVA handle at all.

Unfortunately, the "local" CM, Apollo 7, only is fitted with the main crew hatch handle. I have photographed it and modeled it in CAD, but 7 doesn't appear to even have the mounting pads for the hull-mounted EVA handles, at least that I can see through the paint.

Does anyone have or know of, engineering drawings of either style of EVA handle? Or even the dimensions/spacing of the attachment points on the hull?

Thank you,

Randy
square.jpg

"square"

round.jpg

"round"

Apollo07-hatchhandle-actual.jpg

Apollo 07 hatch handle - actual

Apollo07-hatchhandle-CAD.jpg

Apollo 07 hatch handle - CAD

Root cause failure analysis time:

Is this too [nerdy|narrow|off-topic] a question for this forum?

Is there a more appropriate place to seek information?

I emailed the Cosmosphere restoration group 6 weeks ago with no answer.

Thanks,

Randy