Aerodynamics then and now.

Flitzer

ACCESS: Top Secret
Reaction score
I'm no expert but I've often wondered about areodynamics in respect of underwing ordinance, fuel tanks etc.

For example all through WW2 and indeed through the 50's bombs seemed to be restricted to one or two mounted underwing on fighters/fighter bombers. Main bombers always more or less carried their bombs internally. All presumably in aid of areodynamics.

With modern military aircraft it seems this is no longer as important. The number of pod, bombs, rockets, fuel tanks and missiles carried can at times make underwing areas look like an old fashioned butcher's shop. Therefore clean areo must be a problem.

Is it because most modern fighting aircraft need to be multi-role capable and often there has to be a compromise between areodynamics and what needs to be carried? Or are there other reasons?

Any thoughts

Curious P ???

In the case of fighter-type stealth aircraft -
After they have eliminated all of the ground-to-air threats (AAA and SAMs) and air-to-air threats (enemy fighters), achieved total control of enemy airspace, they are free to attack strategic targets. Since they no longer need stealth, agility, high speed and maneuverability they can be loaded up with air-to-ground weapons - the more the better, to help the dedicated bombardment-type aircraft destroy an enemy's will to fight and bring about surrender.
Just my humble opinion. -SP

A lot of Russian and British designs had internal bomb bays into the 1960s... but then you have American aircraft like the F-84 which quickly started carrying a lot of underwing ordinance.

It might be:
Better engines (Increasing power-to-weight & power-to-drag ratios) + Increased volume of weapons (so they are harder to fit inside without reducing fuel load) + the benefit of having the option of flying with only air-to-air weapons or having a smaller volume during the return flight after releasing bombs.