• Hi Guest! Forum rules have been updated. All users please read here.

Vigilante T249/T250 AA System

sferrin

ACCESS: USAP
Reaction score
If you thought the GAU-8 on the A-10 was something this was a 37mm gatling gun. ISTR they tested up to 40mm but it didn't ever make it on a chassis.

Attachments

• T249 Vigilante.jpg
    T249 Vigilante.jpg
    111 KB · Views: 2,100

hermankeil

ACCESS: Restricted
Reaction score
In 1958 I worked as a contract draftsman at Sperry Utah on the Vigilante. It has only taken me 48 years to see what the complete vehicle looked like. Thank you.
Herman

JohnR

ACCESS: Top Secret
Reaction score
Couple of questions about the Vigilante:

What was the rate of fire of the 37mm gun ?

What would it's effective range have been ?

What chassis was it based on an M113 ?

Did G.E. produce the gun and was the GAU8 derived from it ?

Regards

RP1

I see the truth in it.
Reaction score
Website
rp-one.net
Some details on Vigilante and similar weapons:

http://www.quarry.nildram.co.uk/RED%20QUEEN.htm

RP1

bsmart

ACCESS: Restricted
Reaction score
sferrin said:
If you thought the GAU-8 on the A-10 was something this was a 37mm gatling gun. ISTR they tested up to 40mm but it didn't ever make it on a chassis.

I just found this site after having a thread on it mentioned another discussion board I visit. This picture of the T249 is at least 5 years old and I think actually many more. This picture was taken on the old 'Mile of Tanks' at Aberdeen Proving Grounds. The old Mile was disassembelled for reasons I won't go into now. Although in some ways it was a shame that such an impressive display is gone it did make some of the deterioration of the vehicles obvious and has enabled some to be put through the 'refurb facility' at Aberdeen (No they don't make them run but they do cleanup, patch, clean up environmentally dangerous paint and lubricants and repaint them with modern (non lead based) paint)