Searching for information on Ken Carline (A.J.K. Carline)

Jabatfink

I really should change my personal text
Reaction score
I am currently searching for information on my Grandad Ken Carline and was wondering if you could help me. I noticed you mentioned his name in conversation about The world’s first extreme altitude missile and I would love to find out more about the projects he worked on, I'm new to all this but there must be a way of finding out about his life in aviation?

Get into contact with the National Aerospace Library - they appear to have some stuff associated with a Ken Carline Bequest.

Regards,
Barry

Did you know already about his book?:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Journey-Innovation-Anglo-American-Aerospace-Technology/dp/1840373288

Yes, We think the book may have never been printed, I even spoke to the British library with no joy, my Grandad apparently said that he was worried about it being given out for free on the Internet, so it never got any further. I was going to contact the publisher.

It might be a good idea to give us some more info on your granddad, so that we can narrow the search. Which period did he work? Where did he work (country and possibly company)? What was his profession? and similar stuff that you already know.

Ken Carline joined A.V. Roe in January 1946 and then worked successively for Fairchild, Hunting Aircraft, BAC, Marietta, Convair, Fairy S.A., B.Ae Warton, McDonnell/Douglas, Thermo-skyships, Gulfstreams, and Avtek before taking consulting assignments from 1985 to the present.

He worked on Vulcan and the Avro 720, not sure what else, he had a very varied career.

Airlife (the publisher) were acquired by Crowood Press. If they ever got a manuscript, they may be able to help you, but your grandad might never have completed it, in which case unless your family have a copy it may be lost forever.