Red Hawk Missile

lelman

ACCESS: Restricted
Reaction score
It's mentioned on the Fireflash missile wikipedia page that it had been a watered down version of the , and I quote "beyond state of the art" Red Hawk missile which had an all-aspect capability. Does anyone know why the Red Hawk 1947 edition wasn't kept? Apologies if this post is a bit informal , I'm quite new to the Secret Projects website

Red Hawk was ambitious beyond the capabilities of industry to make. It would have taken lots of money for research and development, and much time. The decision was made to proceed in smaller, easier steps.

It's mentioned on the Fireflash missile wikipedia page that it had been a watered down version of the , and I quote "beyond state of the art" Red Hawk missile which had an all-aspect capability. Does anyone know why the Red Hawk 1947 edition wasn't kept? Apologies if this post is a bit informal , I'm quite new to the Secret Projects website
Mainly because of size. It was supposed to be a semi-active radar homing missile, which would home on the echo of AI Mk.IX aerial interception radar. And to work with it, the missile antenna must be HUGE. It was estimated, that dish diameter of 91 cm (36 inches!) was required to actually achieve all-aspect interception on meaningful ranges. The diameter of the whole missile therefore would be more than a meter.

Two competing proposals were prepared by Gloster and RAE, but neither was actually very promising:

NOTE: the illustrations are from British Secret Projects - Hypersonics, Ramjets & Missiles by Chris Gibson and Tony Buttler, with Russian text added for convenience of Russian readers.

1621497880649.png
NOTE: the illustration is from British Secret Projects - Hypersonics, Ramjets & Missiles by Chris Gibson and Tony Buttler, with Russian text added for convenience of Russian readers.