but very spectacular
the First stage has engine problem.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJ5__1PPgNQ&feature=player_embedded

xllPsN_B8iY.jpg

"Olympic tourch Sochi 2014"

Don't they have Range Safety?............. :eek:

cheers,
Robin.

My same thought. I'm no expert, but I don't think you can correct a trajectory when it is essentially horizontal (!). Shouldn't someone have pushed a red button? or better yet, shouldn't there be an automatic flight termination system?
Did someone terminate the flight or did it simply destruct itself?

Perhaps their version of Range Safety is just having lots and lots of open space around the launch pad. Cheap, and reliable.

To me it looked like the early China's launch of the 90's.

Range safety systems onboard a rocket that blow it up from a signal from the ground are only unique to the US (and maybe ESA). Russian has never used a Range safety destruct system (nor does China). The Russians do have a range safety system, and it is designed to shut down the engines when the vehicle deviates from the planned flight path (but this is disabled for a few seconds to allow for the vehicle to clear the launch site). The Russian launch site is isolated and so there is no near by public to protect by destructing the vehicle.

usual suspect at the launch date

Attachments

• 1011964_10151458494821857_2048393786_n.jpg
    1011964_10151458494821857_2048393786_n.jpg
    28.1 KB · Views: 156
turns out the cause was human stupidity