Israeli 'Pereh' anti-tank missile carrier revealed...

robunos

You're Mad, You Are.....
Reaction score
Israrel has officially revealed the 'Pereh' anti-tank missile carrier, armed with Spike missiles...

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3171290/Israeli-secret-missile-launcher-disguised-TANK-finally-declassified-20-years-rumours-secret-missions.html

cheers,
Robin.

Attachments

• pereh #1.jpg
    pereh #1.jpg
    79 KB · Views: 732
  • pereh #2.jpg
    pereh #2.jpg
    36.3 KB · Views: 722
Thanks. Kind of amazing they kept it under wraps for 30 years. This feels like a vehicle role that would be very useful in other militaries -- a missile carrier robust to operate with the main armored force but with enough range to overmatch opposing ATGMs and perhaps even some artillery support.

Well, I am not an expert on tanks, but I knew since years, that the Israeli Army had a secret platform to fire anti-tank missiles which could be fired out of line of sight / target locked after launch like over a hill as an example. Probably the Spike NLOS missile.
I remember reading in a report that the platform at that time were M113 armored personnel carriers.
The only new thing to me is that Israeli Army is now using the M60 Patton main battle tank chassis disguised as a Merkava tank.

Attachments

• 1051121950.jpg
    1051121950.jpg
    50.5 KB · Views: 687
The Tamuz M113 carrier has been known for a few years. The new announcement is a version with heavy armor intended to operate with tank forces. And that has apparently been around for a long time.

BTW, it is built on an M-48 chassis. There is some speculation that they're revealing it now because all the other Magachs are retired so the Pereh is a maintence issue. I'd guess there may be a Merkava-based capability that hasn't been revealed yet.

TomS said: