German Bundeswehr contracts Polaris Raumflugzeuge for scaled demo Aurora hypersonic "spaceplane"

muttbutt

ACCESS: Secret
Reaction score

Space plane demonstrator for the Bundeswehr​

The Bundeswehr has contracted Polaris to build and flight test a scaled demonstrator of the Aurora aerospace and hypersonic system. The order is based on the preparatory project RDRS, which was successfully completed in 2021.

03/18/2022

The demonstrator will be the largest aircraft ever built by Polaris Raumflugzeuge GmbH in Bremen. It is about ten times heavier than previous jet-powered aircraft that have flown or are preparing to fly. The first flights are planned for the end of this year.
H1C76Dy.jpg

More in German. https://www.flugrevue.de/militaer/auftrag-an-polaris-raumflugzeug-demonstrator-fuer-die-bundeswehr/

Wow, spectacularly bad timing - that announcement's way too early for April Fools Day! But seriously, as a German aerospace engineer I am truly stunned (and somewhat embarrased) that the BAAINBw has apparently been hoodwinked like that.

Last edited:

1kN of thrust equate 100kgp ~ 200lb of Thrust.
Not much for a 4,5m long vehicle with the intend to reach above 100km and go hypersonic..

So I fail to understand the logic in this expenditure of public money:
- why build an entire vehicle when you can hung the rocket engine under an high altitude aircraft and test it safely (thrust is minimal)?
- why risk injuries flying such around an airport?
- what's new there?

Last edited:
That’s the inverse of the D-558…A rocket plane with a jet as opposed to a jet-plane with a rocket.

To me, a jet is something you have so you don’t have to land dead-stick like Shuttle…something you can use after you re-enter. Pop up over the atmosphere with a pure rocket.

This way you can have an airframe that doesn’t look like a chisel. Yuck.

It will probably take a few more breakthroughs to get Orion III though—the SuperSabre on steroids.

Last edited: