Pratt & Whitney J-58 Engine

sferrin

ACCESS: USAP
Reaction score
Does anybody know if this article was ever completed?

Looks like parts 2&3 are missing from the English version and part 3 doesn't appear to be available in French either.

A significant portion of the SR-71's J-58 engine thrust was provided by turbine bypass air that was dumped into the afterburner. (See diagram.) Question: Could the same principle be used with a non-afterburning turbofan or turbojet engine? The idea would be to take excess intake air and channel it into the non-afterburning exhaust stream. The intended effect would be to increase the mass of the exhaust, thereby increasing thrust. Please be kind. I am not an engineer.

Bronc

Attachments

• SR71_J58_Engine_Airflow_Patterns.jpg
    SR71_J58_Engine_Airflow_Patterns.jpg
    465.4 KB · Views: 563
sferrin said:
That's how non-afterburning turbofans work. ;)

Well, I'm talking about air that doesn't pass through the turbofan at all. I'm talking about excess intake air that bypasses the engine completely and is channeled into the exhaust. It would be a "double bypass" engine. The J-58 worked like a ramjet in this way, but I'm just talking about high-speed intake air that is channeled all the way back and dumped into the exhaust.

Bronc

Last edited by a moderator:
Broncazonk said:
Well, I'm talking about air that doesn't pass through the turbofan at all. I'm talking about excess intake air that bypasses the engine completely and is channeled into the exhaust. It would be a "double bypass" engine. The J-58 worked like a ramjet in this way, but I'm just talking about high-speed intake air that is channelled all the way back and dumped into the exhaust.