Northrop SM-62 Snark Model

CAIR67

ACCESS: Restricted
Reaction score
Hi,
First of all this is my first time posting anything in the forum. I wish I found out about this sooner as it is such a wonderful gathering place for aviation enthusiasts and information.
I recently acquired this huge Snark model it's 76"in x 44"in wingspan made out of wood and fiberglass. It was originally painted grey and than someone repainted it with a spray can silver. However they did mask around the markings. I plan on making a base for it and restoring it to possibly the red with white test scheme.
I am currently looking for photos of larger Snark models to see what type of base they might have had to give me ideas. I am also looking to see if there was a painting guide to what the different schemes were for the snark. I found a lot of pictures of the smaller snark models but not larger ones. I was told by the previous owner it sat on a pole at Hill AFB, but thats all I know about this one.
Hope I can get some help and that this constitutes an appropriate topic for the forum!!
Thanks CAIR
SilverSnark2.jpg

SilverSnark.jpg

Artwork by Chuck Kuderna from a 1958 Northrop ad.

Attachments

• Chuck Kuderna - Northrop 1958.jpg
    Chuck Kuderna - Northrop 1958.jpg
    177.5 KB · Views: 225
Stargazer2006 said:

Thanks for the kind words.
I've seen this scheme and another one with 4 or 5 closely spaced horizontal lines white lines. I wonder what the difference between the two are. Since my model has the parachute box on the tail I am looking for a matching Red/White scheme. Also I am hoping to find painting blueprints for how wide the lines were and their placement. I have the Lindberg model but I don't know how much I can rely on it for painting.

Thanks
David

Here's a poor quality photo that might help...

Attachments

• F-89 and SM-62-small.jpg
    F-89 and SM-62-small.jpg
    564.8 KB · Views: 220
From Bill Gunstons "Encyclopedia Of Rockets & Missiles"

Attachments

• Snark.JPG