Yermolayev Yer-2 with mixed powerplant

maxmwill

I really should change my personal text
Reaction score
Not sure if this is the right folder to put this in, but, recently, I bought a kit of a 1/72 Yer-2. While I was waiting for it, I decided to see if I could find any more information than what I have courtesy of Bill
Gunston's book, Aircraft of the Soviet Union. I found one I can currently afford, a Russian publication. I found another one, which will be on order as soonas I have sufficient funds to spare for it.

While I cannot understand much Russian(I learned years ago that samolyet means flying machine, but that's teh extent of my self-taught Russian.

Be that as it may, I can still understand enough of the book(illustrations, photos, and figures) to be able to get an idea as to how I'll be building this kit.

However, in the book, on page 19, there is a 2 view of this with a pair of turbine engines aft of each engine. Below that is a diagram of one of the piston engines and two of the turbine engines. I'd sure like to find out more, as this might make for an interesting kit bash.

I wouldn't mind getting this translated, as the Yer-2 isn't well known here in the west, but well known in Russia. I'd like to find out more on this from the Russian perspective, mebbe even some pilot reports to see how this compares to comparable aircraft in the west.

A special place in the history of Yer-2 is occupied by its version with a combined power plant, which included M-30B diesel engines and motor-jet engines (VRDK). Work on them was completed in 1943 at CIAM under the leadership of A.I. Tolstov. The principal feature of the VRDK was the use of a piston M-30B with a propeller as the main engines at all stages of flight, and a pair of VRDK as accelerators needed to reduce runoff or short-term increase in flight speed.