Unbuilt Type-XXIX u-boat

covert_shores

Research + illustration
Reaction score
Website
www.hisutton.com
Am looking for plans and info on the various Type-XXIX (type-29) uboots. I have been shown some plans for the XXIX-H but they are so advanced I am looking for collaborating evidence.

Gröner lists 12 projects (A, B, B2, C, D, F, GK, H, K1 - 4) as "Studienentwürfe" (concepts) with different displacements
from 681 to 1060 ts (surfaced), conventional propulsion systems (Diesel and batteries) and the K-variants with Diesel
circulation systems and armament from 6 to 12 tubes. Only drawing given is the H variant.
Just send a PM, if you are interested in that data.

illustration of this intriguing boat:
sQ4s34T.jpg

I think that only the Type-XXI can compare when it comes to future-influencing designs. Completely different to the Walter-AIP ideas, this must surely have been a design influence for the postwar Type-205/6 designs?

I'm not a naval engineer, but those control surfaces look far too small. I cannot see the horizontal tail size, but the vertical does not seem like enough surface area to control a boat with a sail that large. Again, just an opinion from a non-engineer.

I assumed some type of h-tail from the picture... but that is just a guess by my mind trying to address exactly what you are seeing :)

Yes it looks small to me also. It is drawn from the plans so consider it accurate.

It's an 'H' shape as Avimimus suggests. The single screw is in the middle between the verticals. The horizontal surface is platypus-like with the moving hydroplane behind the screw.

These boats would have been quite slow by modern standards so probably more as a rudder than a stabilizer. Rudders only started getting *really* big in 1950s(?). The closest equiv is postwar Type-205 which also has quite small rudders -might be possible to calculate a comparison from plans.

My hunch is that if they built it they'd have tweaked things like that.

Hello H,