Introduce Yourself

Hey guys,

My name is Phil, I'm 33 y.o. and I'm from Letchworth, England. I am a civil engineer by the trade, but very much into human space flight and exploration of another celestial bodies. Couple years ago, I've started building a space flight sim for Orbiter 2016 and started digging into nuclear propulsion systems for manned missions to Mars and beyond. Researching all those fascinating designs from 60s-70s (such as M-19, the Star raker, etc.) led me here.

Cheers!
Welcome Phil! Sorry for my ignorance but what do you mean by building a space flight simulator? Do you mean coding your own sim module?

The closest I got to building a flight simulator was when I was 8 years old and my Dad wanted to throw away our old wooden see-saw. I begged him to keep it for one more summer. I drilled a hole on one end through the seat area; stuck an old mop in an old bucket and filled it with cement. When the cement cured, I stuck the handle end through the hole in the see-saw and attached it with rope and used it like a joy-stick. I had a counter-weight on the other end to balance things out. When I moved the stick forward, the see-saw went up and when I moved the stick back, the end went down. When my Dad came home for lunch and saw what I had done, he rushed back to his work to get a long grey carpet runner and we used it like a run way. He pretended he was the control tower with his walkie-talkie and I had mine asking permission to land. That summer I collected over $8 by charging my neighbours $0.10 for a ride on my simulator!

Last edited:
Welcome Phil! Sorry for my ignorance but what do you mean by building a space flight simulator? Do you mean coding your own sim module?