Flying Camelot; The F-15, the F-16, and the weaponization of fighter pilot nostalgia

Sundog

ACCESS: Top Secret
Reaction score
Flying Camelot I just ran across the link to this book and was wondering if anyone had read it? I'm waiting for a certain someone else's book on the LWF program, which I expect to be more knowledgeable on the subject. ;)

1654830951655.png

By the way,

the magazine Air Force of UAE made an issue,consisted of about 200
pages about Second Gulf War,included every battel done in this fight,
in 1991/92

While I am not an expert in the subject, I would recommend this book as it covers the post Vietnam USAF, a subject often neglected. Furthermore, it explains how the US experience in Vietnam influenced USAF procurement afterwards, as well as the USAF and national cultural changes affected that procurement.

Last edited:
It's a revised and expanded version of his thesis "The Cult of the Lightweight Fighter Culture and Technology in the U.S. Air Force, 1964-1991 (2018)" which you can read for free.

a pretty interesting read, but you tell he's a historian and not an aviation enthusiast - he makes a few mistakes an aircraft buff wouldn't. I tried to correct a few of them for the book version, with some success. Its basically a cultural study of where the "fighter mafia' ideas came from.

I'm waiting for a certain someone else's book on the LWF program, which I expect to be more knowledgeable on the subject. ;)
I wouldn't hold your breath on that, probably still quite a way away.

In the meantime, I highly recommend the three case studies in 'Mission Emphasis and the Determination of Needs for New Weapon Systems' by Daniel Mark Gillespie (https://dspace.mit.edu/handle/1721.1/53215) as the best account of the origins of the TFX, FX and LWF programs, with the Fighter Mafia placed in their proper context.